Ibrahim Keivo, vocals & bouzouk                            

 S A D A Q A 

Mohannad Nasser, oud

Manfred Bründl

double bass

Bodek Janke, percussion & drums

Ibrahim Keivo, vocals & bouzouk

Mohannad Nasser, Oud

Manfred Bründl, bass

Bodek Janke, percussion & drums

 

 

It is barely 1000 kilometers from the foothills of the southern Caucasus to the borders of what is historically referred to as Mesopotamia or Mesopotamia. Today this large region between Armenia, Azerbaijan, North Syria and North Iraq is culturally and politically divided.

 

But the mutual cultural influences remain, historically speaking, immense and which medium would be better suited to make them audible, noticeable, and comprehensible than music? This is exactly what SWR jazz prize winner Manfred Bründl, bassist and professor at the Weimar University of Music, is about in his new project with the universal Arabic title Sadaqa, "Friendship", with which he draws a bow from the traditional sounds and songs of the southern Caucasus the musical traditions of Mesopotamia.

 

The artists reflect the cultural diversity of this project : Ibrahim Keivo has Armenian roots and comes from a Yezidi-Kurdish village in northeast Syria; he sings in various dialects in Arabic, Kurdish, Aramaic, Armenian and is at the same time a gifted multi-instrumentalist.

The multi-award-winning oud virtuoso Mohannad Nasser also comes from Syria. Bodek Janke, on the other hand, is one of the most sought-after percussionists and drummers in the jazz and world scene and has won prizes, including the International Europe Jazz Contest.

Ibrahim Keivo, Gesang & Bouzouk                            

 S A D A Q A 

Mohannad Nasser, Oud

Manfred Bründl, Bass

Bodek Janke, Percussion & Drums

Ibrahim Keivo, Gesang & Bouzouk

Mohannad Nasser, Oud

Manfred Bründl, Bass

Bodek Janke, Percussion & Drums

 

 

Von den Ausläufern des südlichen Kaukasus bis an die Grenzen dessen, was man historisch als Mesopotamien oder Zweistromland bezeichnet, sind es kaum 1000 Kilometer. Heute ist diese Großregion zwischen Armenien, Aserbeidschan, Nord-Syrien und Nord-Irak kulturell wie politisch zersplittert.

Doch die wechselseitigen kulturellen Einflüsse bleiben, historisch betrachtet, immens und welches Medium wäre besser dazu geeignet, sie hörbar, spürbar, nachvollziehbar zu machen als die Musik? Genau darum geht es SWR-Jazzpreisträger Manfred Bründl, Bassist und Professor an der Musikhochschule Weimar, in seinem neuen Projekt mit dem universellen arabischen Titel Sadaqa, „Freundschaft“, mit dem er einen Bogen spannt von den traditionellen Klängen und Liedern des südlichen Kaukasus hin zu den Musiktraditionen Mesopotamiens. 

Dabei spiegeln die Künstler die kulturelle Vielfalt des Projektes wider: Ibrahim Keivo hat armenische Wurzeln und stammt aus einem jesidisch-kurdischen Dorf im Nordosten Syriens; er singt in verschiedenen Dialekten auf arabisch, in kurdisch, aramäisch, armenisch und ist zugleich ein begnadeter Multi-Instrumentalist.

Ebenfalls aus Syrien stammt der vielfach international ausgezeichnete Oud-Virtuose Mohannad Nasser. Bodek Janke wiederum ist einer der gefragtesten Percussionisten und Drummer der Jazz-und World-Szene und Preisträger u.a. des International Europe Jazz Contest.